Vlog Wednesday: Clutter and Procrastination

Clutter’ – a confusing or disorderly state or collection

Procrastination’ – the act of replacing high-priority actions with tasks of lower priority, or doing something from which one derives enjoyment, and thus putting off important tasks to a later time. 

Clutter seems to have a heavy hold on my creativity at the moment.  I decided back in May that I would finally try and seriously pursue my dream of running an Etsy store.  Since graduating with a degree in Contemporary Textile Practice at UWIC, like many Art and Design graduates, I have always had the underlying urge to make a living through creating and selling my own work.  

After leaving the supportive network that university provides, I never really new how to go about it and therefore went off on a tangent and began a career in teaching.  I discovered the Etsy channel by mistake on YouTube one day, which opened up the real possibility of selling online, something that I had never really considered before.  However, since making this decision, and feeling wholly committed at the time, my designated making time has been bombarded with a range of ‘clutter’ filled situations and good old ‘procrastination’.


My main enemy on the clutter front is lack of space.  I have a very small box room to create in and too much stuff for the available space .  Despite a concerted effort of procrastinating and reorganisation, where I thought I had finally got it right, I am still in a position of having to tackle general clutter before I can start creating my art.  This is not because the clutter is convenient distraction, but because the clutter needs to be moved before I can even get to my desk or sewing machine.

After the most recent episode of reorganistaion,  I carefully arranged like for like items together so that it would be easier to find them when needed, which has worked to some extent.  My downfall lies in the fact that I solemnly swore to myself that I would religiously put things back in their new homes every time I had finished with them, which of course is easier said than done.  It only takes a phone call or dinner being ready half way through a project to use the excuse that ‘I’ll come back to this later’.  Unfortunately all too often more distractions crop up or it gets too late and the tidying never gets done because I reassure myself that ‘I didn’t quite finish so i’ll need everything out anyway’.  My problem is that the next time I have time to create my own work I’ll probably want to work on something else and thus the whole process of clutter and procrastinating starts again.

I am sure that I am not the only one who struggles with this.  I would like to think that this situation would not be such an issue if I wasn’t trying to juggle a full time job, renovating kitchen (a whole separate post in it’s right) and creating my own work.  This reassuring post by the Indie Retail Academy helped me put some of these feelings into perspective and a much needed reminder that putting unnecessary pressure or feelings of guilt on myself will not help  ambitions to progress any quicker.

http://www.indieretailacademy.com/procrastination-a-spotters-guide/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=procrastination-a-spotters-guide

One thought on “Vlog Wednesday: Clutter and Procrastination

  1. ALAN BLOOD says:

    If it helps – the “process of clutter and procrastinating” doesn’t get any better at the age if 68 !!! Any useful suggestions would always be appreciated !!!

Leave a Reply

