What’s in a name? The meaning of Hippie to me

My last post focused upon the inspiration behind choosing the word vaudeville, but what I did not mention was why I had chosen hippie.

Way of Life

Steve and I would probably describe ourselves as ‘hippies’, nothing full blown (we pay a mortgage). But we are hippies in terms of outlook on life. Aspiring towards something that sits outside the established norm, of creativity and verging on the unconventional.

Vaudeville Hippie Style Vaudeville Hippie Style

We have not had a TV for the majority of the seven years we have been together and though you can catch most things that are worth watching online, people still react the same way when they discover I do not have a television, with shock or pity.

Instead we use our time to practise circus skills, Steve plays guitar and creates music, I dabble with learning to belly dance and yoga.  Now of course our time is spent developing our Etsy shop. I have even learnt to curb any unnecessary Internet time unless it’s to write this blog or useful social networking to do with the business.

Vaudeville Hippie way of life

Circus Hippie

I knew I wanted to include the word ‘hippie’ in the business name because I just felt it was a strong indication and description of our style and ethos. ‘Hippie’ was in fact the starting point because, as mentioned above, it was something I felt most in tune with.  I actually began with the concept of handmade hippie, but of course this has already been used a million times over.  So the search was on to find something that uniquely summed up what we are all about.

It was important that ‘Hippie’ remained because it also fits in with the circus theme.  Circus skills are becoming popular with people drawn to the hippie style which can be seen at festivals. There are even festivals that are specifically aimed at the circus/ hippie crowd such as Play and Southern Lights (which has sadly been postponed until further notice).

Vaudeville Hippie festivals

Vaudeville Hippie Festivals

Vaudeville Hippie Festivals

Vaudeville Hippie came about after a lot of trial and error and countless google searches seemed to finally fit the feel I had been searching for.

I created my first Etsy treasury based on the theme of the alternative, bohemian, hippie vibe.

Vaudeville Hippie Etsy treasury Boho Hippie Summer

4 thoughts on “What’s in a name? The meaning of Hippie to me

Leave a Reply

