Just Draw

Since my last post about sketch book journaling I have spent the weekend exploring some of the techniques I have been discovering on YouTube.  My favourite technique is definitely using a spray bottle to apply colour to the page.  I have also been busy making a variety of printing blocks with raised string, which still has much more potential to explore.

Just Draw recent drawings by Vaudeville Hippie

Just Draw recent drawings by Vaudeville Hippie

Alongside this I have also really got into just drawing for pleasure.  I think I put too much pressure on myself to create that perfect piece, which I have certainly used as an excuse for putting off starting artwork.  This is because  I have had feelings of doubt, uncertainty or head filled with thoughts of ‘what if…’.

Starting is always he hardest part, particularly if I haven’t done anything for a couple of weeks, or even months.  Despite always knowing this, sometimes it is good just to make a start and this week has been a good reminder of this to ignore those feelings of apprehension.  I think this is why I love the journaling process so much, because it allows me to just create.
Just Draw recent drawings by Vaudeville Hippie
Just Draw recent drawings by Vaudeville Hippie

My creative journey this week through journaling and drawing has allowed me to explore potential aesthetic of Vaudeville Hippie.

One thought on “Just Draw

Leave a Reply

