Zero to Hero TASK 12: FROM COMMENT TO BLOG POST — BE INSPIRED BY THE COMMUNITY

So today I am going to focus on a page I read today from Dennis Cardiff’s blog ‘Gotta Find a Home’ titled ‘How it all Began‘.  This is not really related to the overall theme of my blog, but it struck such a chord, I chose to write a post about it for this task.

Dennis describes how on a very cold, uninspiring walk to work one morning he noticed a homeless woman sitting in the cold and snow.  Despite the cold, he was struck by her smile and drew upon a time in his own life where money was tight and prospect were bad.  At this point Dennis did something different.  Rather than walking past with the stereotypical mindset that homeless people spend any begging money on alcohol he offered to buy her breakfast.  Naturally the woman took Dennis up on his offer.

The story does not end here and this is what I particularly liked.  Dennis repeated this every day, so that a couple of years down the line he is still offering the lady breakfast and a friendship how grown out of what is otherwise less than fortunate circumstance.

By reading this post it has reminded me of the times I have walked past a homeless person, but not really sure what to do to help.  I have sometimes thought about offering food, but have not had the courage to see it through, which sounds so silly because if it was me in that situation I would appreciate being noticed.  This act of kindness has inspired me to think again about how we view homelessness.

Without wanting to sound too cliched we get so caught up in our own day to day circumstances that we forget that other people deserve a bit of kindness in their lives, if anything to give a little bit of hope.  I am sure there are other people out there like Dennis supporting people through difficult times, it just got me thinking the effect it could have if more of us took a moment out of our busy day to help someone out.

Dennis says ‘I can’t do much for these people except to show them love, compassion, an ear to listen, perhaps a breakfast sandwich and a coffee. I would like to do more. To know them is to love them. What has been seen cannot be unseen. I have started to write an account of their daily lives. I intend to turn this into a book and have it published. That is my goal.’  I think he is doing a great job.  If you get a moment to check out the rest of his blog please do and help spread the word.

2 thoughts on “Zero to Hero TASK 12: FROM COMMENT TO BLOG POST — BE INSPIRED BY THE COMMUNITY

Leave a Reply

