A Cloth Doll for Lily: Liliella

IMG_6201

This fairy princess, Liliella, was created for my cousin’s youngest daughter Lily. She is based on the final, most complex pattern, ‘Titiana’ from my Jan Horrox book.  This was definitely a challenge and took a lot longer to create than the previous dolls because of the moveable joints for the arms, elbows, hips and knees.  However, I enjoyed the challenge and the process of making all the intricate details for the doll.

IMG_6207

The colour scheme was developed from this original piece of textiles that I created for my degree over ten years ago.  Initially I dyed the fabric pale blue, then added red dye on top of the blue to create a bleed effect and purple dye to add texture.  The purple and pink stripes were created through a hand cut screen print.  Finally I stitched basic linear petal shapes over the purple textured areas.  It was nice revisiting an old piece of work and to give it a new lease of life.  My plan is to incorporate other textiles pieces that I have into my doll making.

IMG_3178

Fortunately, I already had a mixture of pink, purple and blue fabrics in my collection like the range of textured wools that I used for the hair, which also includes strips of off-cut fabrics from other parts of the doll.  I particularly like the vintage pink and purple floral fabric that I used on the lower arms and legs.

IMG_6205

Fortunately it was a really sunny day when I came to photograph Liliella so I made the most of this and hunted out interesting areas in my garden and had fun posing her in different areas.  I was particularly pleased with this image below and the featured image because I feel these tell the most interesting story.

IMG_6204

5 thoughts on “A Cloth Doll for Lily: Liliella

Leave a Reply

