OOAK cloth doll by Vaudeville Hippie

A Cloth Doll For Natasha: Day of the Dead Fairy

This is probably the most original doll I have created to date and was made for my friend and illustrator Natasha Durley.  This doll is definitely getting closer to the style of doll I would like to make in the future.

IMG_6398

Like my Zombie Poi Spinner doll, this was also inspired by an original Vaudeville Hippie sketch.

Just Draw recent drawings by Vaudeville Hippie

I created the initial idea and Steve adapted it using his illustration skills to complete the figure as a whole and to develop this into an image for screen printing.

IMG_2716

This mysterious fairy has been positioned as close to the original as possible, even down to the fingers lace behind her back.  I really enjoyed bringing this drawing to life and to see a three-dimensional version evolve using the doll making skills I have gained since starting in the new year.

IMG_6397

Once again, I used cut strips of old T-shirt material as discovered in my Machi doll and was really pleased that I was able to recreate her two tone red and black hair.

IMG_6400

Her face and pattern details on the wing were drawn on using pigment pens by Pilot.

IMG_6404

I was particularly pleased that I was able to re-create the fishnet tights by doubling up the base fabric for her legs with a layer of black netting.

IMG_6399

I love how she looks deep in thought with her day dream expression.  I am hoping to create more Day of the Dead fairies and explore other colour schemes. The red, black and white has been heavily inspired by circus stripes.

I would love to see your Day of the Dead creations in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

